The Armor of God Part 4

         Welcome back to part 4 of the study on the Armor of God. Thank you for being with me. We are half way through the journey this passage of the Bible. I hope that you have been blessed, and that you have learned something new each day.

 

The Armor of God
Part 4

    “Therefore, take up the full armor of God, that you may be able to resist in the evil day, and having done everything, to stand firm.” Eph. 6:13
•    Up (353) (Hebrew and Chaldee dictionary)Eyal: strength
•    Resist (436) (Greek dictionary of the NT) Anthistemi: to stand against, oppose, resist, withstand.
•    Evil (4190) (Lexicon) Poneros: evil as in a moral or spiritual sense, wicked, malicious, mischievous.
•    Day (2250) (Lexicon) Hemera: period of time. 24 hours, day versus night.
•    Firm (2476) (Lexicon): to set, abide, continue.

In v. 11 Paul tells us to “put on” the full armor of God. Now in v. 13 he tells us to “take up” the full armor of God. The word up in this verse means strength. Essentially Paul is telling us to put on and take up the strength of God. This is a reminder to us that it is not our strength that we rely on but God’s.
I think that it is important to note here that once again he is telling us “the full armor of God”. I don’t mean to keep harping on this one point, but, it is so important for us to be successful in standing firm against the schemes of the devil. Once again, if we go into battle wearing only half of our protective gear than we are at a greater risk of sustaining damage to that part of our body. And if one part of our body is wounded the whole body suffers. It is a distraction to us, and when we are distracted we are not as able to be wary of the enemy and his wicked ways. This makes it easier for us to fall into one of his schemes and possibly be carried away. So I think that it is worth revisiting this over and over till we get it. We need to wear the whole armor of God at all times to be able to resist the devil.
“…that you may be able to resist…”
The word resist means to stand against, oppose, resist, withstand.
Take up the strength of God (all of it) and oppose the devil. We gain God’s strength when we are willing to use our free will to preform God’s will. We need to be obedient to His calling in our lives. When we can trust God to know what is best for us, and to trust that He has everything under control, then can we learn to take up and put on the full armor of God, which is His strength. James 4:7 “So humble yourselves before God. Resist the devil and he will flee.”

“…in the evil day…”
The word day is a measure of time (most often a 24 hour period).
I referenced Mt. 6:34 in a previous part of this study, I think that it is worth re-visiting again. “So don’t worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will bring its own worries. Today’s trouble is enough for today.”
If we are to stand firm against these attacks everyday how can we not worry? By humbling ourselves before God; to give up ones free will to do the will of another it takes humility. Even if the other will happens to be God’s. It is only with the strength of God that we can even imagine being able to stand against the devil. Without God’s strength surely we will crumble beneath the weight of such a burden.
I believe that Paul is trying to condition us for the life that lies ahead of us when we choose to follow Christ. Every single day, every moment of everyday the devil lurks about trying to find ways to tempt us, destroy us, take away our joy, our health, our families, our friends. He is the roaring lion that Peter talks about in 1 Peter 5:8 “Stay alert! Watch out for your great enemy, the devil. He prowls around like a roaring lion, looking for someone to devour.” Stay alert! He warns us; don’t let your guard down, for this is when he will attack.
I see so many Christians get “burnt out” of fighting the good fight. I know I grow weary at times, but this is because I am not relying on the strength of God. I am relying on my own strength. And I fail every single time I do that. I am weak, I stumble, I fall, I sin, but if I would remind myself all day long that if I rely on God’s strength that things would go so much easier for me. It is at these moments that I realize that I am not wearing my armor properly. Then I stop and do an armor check. If I am honest with myself, I can see where I am weak and have let my guard down, this is the place where I have allowed the enemy to sneak in and attack. But it is only if I am being honest and humble with myself and God that I can see it.
“…and having done everything to stand firm.”
The word firm means to abide, continue.
So it takes work on our part to put on and take up the whole armor of God. It takes us surrendering to God’s will to make it possible. It is a conscious choice every single second of every single day to serve God, to wear His armor, to take up His fight, the good fight. Jesus tells us what our reward for doing this is in John 14:23 “Jesus replied, “All who love Me will do what I say. My Father will love them, and We will come and make Our home with each of them.” What a reward! To have the Father and Jesus making a home with us! So I guess this helps to strengthen what Paul is telling us here about the armor of God. If we use our free will to follow Jesus they (the Father and Son) will abide with us.
But we still have to do everything that we can to stand against the devil. We can do this, we can stand firm in God’s will and gain His strength. Paul tells us how in Eph. 4:22 “Throw off your old sinful nature and your former way of life, which is corrupted by lust and deception.” By living a life that is worthy of Christ we can throw off our old sinful ways. If we want to keep one foot in the world and one in the church we will never truly be successful at wearing the armor of God.
God truly does give us everything that we need to be successful at being a Christian. We just have to want it bad enough. I want to leave you today with one of the most inspiring quotes of the bible; 2 Tim 4:7-8 “I have fought the good fight, I have finished the race, and I have remained faithful. And now the prize awaits me—the crown of righteousness, which the Lord, the righteous Judge, will give me on the day of his return. And the prize is not just for me but for all who eagerly look forward to his appearing.”

Come back tomorrow for part 5 of this study. We will be looking at v. 14 “stand firm therefore, having girded your loins with truth, and having put on the breastplate of righteousness,”
Now to Him who us able to keep us until that day, God be with you till we meet again.

 

One thought on “The Armor of God Part 4

  1. Pingback: Remaining Focused on God and Discovering His Sustaining Strength | Inspirational Matters

Leave a Reply

